OUR STORY

GENESIS OF THE ADVENTURE

We decided to leave Paris in September 2013, to create a place of peace and hospitality in the countryside. Original, aesthetic, welcoming, restful and friendly, everyone would feel more like a guest rather than a client. This place would resemble us, it would be eclectic, cool, playful, festive or zen depending on the mood, in a beautiful and sunny setting, with a lovely view and an indoor swimming pool to relax in winter and splash around in the summer, sheltered from the wind and sunburn. We would take our two little guys who were 6 months and 7 years old at this time to live there (now they are 3 :-) , away from pollution and wet winters. In short, it was not an easy task to find this gem. We explored several regions for a year, gradually getting closer to Uzès... where we landed in October 2014 for a 3-week spotting trip.

THE GREAT LEAP

Autumn was splendid, and the sun was bright. It happened during this escapade that we discovered what we were looking for above all else after 25 years in Paris for Jean-Marie, originally from Brittany, and a whole life as a Parisian for me: a mild and dry climate, splendid landscapes, the proximity of 2 TGV stations (Avignon and Nîmes) and 4 international airports (Montpellier, Nîmes, Avignon and Marseille), combined with a region that is culturally rich and vibrant all year round, and a fantastic gastronomy and a terroir. In short, fate offered us the opportunity to visit this house... It was modern and not yet very graceful, and did not look like the traditional stone "mas" that tourists like so much. But the base was there: the view, the swimming pool, the volumes... we both immediately felt its vibrations and its potential for renovation. The beauty and location of the village of Castillon-du-Gard, between the Cévennes, Ardèche, Alpilles, Camargue and the coast did the rest. What an incredible challenge for anyone who wanted to be crazy enough to roll up their sleeves and transform this building into a luxurious Mediterranean villa! Crazy we were, so we jumped into the cold water without hesitating.

FROM DREAM TO REALITY

Our Parisian loft sold (a commercial surface that we had previously renovated in the Goutte d'Or district in Paris), we decide to buy the house and temporarily settle in a small habitable part, the future Posto Nove gîte. First fight: financing the renovation work. Having spent the winter to complete the business plan (a 120-page illustrated paving stone of paper!) we thought that presenting this significant amount of work to a bank would be a formal step ... in fact it has taken more than 9 months before we crossed the road of a Crédit adviser  who literally cracked on our UFO project, and who fought successfully so that we can start our work in extremis ... in January 2016. Thanks again to her!

LET'S WORK IT OUT !

January 2016. After all this wasted time, it was really time to start the work if we don't want to miss the season. Fortunately, a guardian angel had just landed on the Petits Gardons: Chokri, a long time friend of Jean-Marie's and experienced construction driver, was the first to join the team. We worked 10 hours a day to get everything moving as quickly as possible: plans, layout, exterior masonry, insulation, walls, electricity, plumbing, painting... but despite the good craftsmen involved, the bad surprises kept piling up, everything had to be redone. It was a race against time, but yet everyone was still confident at this step.

LAST TOUCHES ON THE PAINTING

With Spring comes the necessity to work on the landscape: earthworks, creation of dry stone walls, installation of the irrigation system ... 5 trucks of , a 5m palm tree and two trucks of plants later, our little oasis takes shape : Pomegranates, pomegranate, guava, mulberry, bottle rinses, lavender, rosemary, olive trees, gauras, agaves, cycads ... It was time, the heat is back and it's time to take care of our swimming pool which serves more furniture storage! But no question of putting in water before having to have isolated and repainted. The soil is also in poor condition, you must strip everything! The tasks are linked at a crazy speed ... The errors too, and sometimes it is necessary to undo and redo what we have struggled to undertake the day before, without being discouraged. It's the job that comes back! In early June the pergolas are mounted, the new wooden pool terrace is built ... but there are still external tiles to change, kitchens to design and build, tables to manufacture, upholstered benches, appliances to buy, decoration, equipment, bedding ... the season smells of fir ... but nobody gives up, we have no choice save the season and open in July at any cost!

THE FINAL SPRINT

July 2016. We rushed to death, but in early July, we are still far from any opening perspective... as they say in the trades industry, the finishing is always the longest part ! 7 days of work a week, 15 hours a day, we work tirelessly. It's time for decoration, finally! So we chine, we cut, we saw, we glue, we plan ... still not figuring out if we'll be able to open by end of the month. The project takes shape, and we begin to touch our dream with our fingertips... Enough produce a first serie of photos to feed our website and operator pages ... No photos, no customers!

THE OPENING, AT LAST !!

August 2016. That's it we are there! We redouble our intensity for the final preparations and the arrival of our first customers. Adrien our talented photographer did wonders and managed to shoot the first spaces completed in time for the launch of our site. The first bookings fall ... it is both a relief and a big extra pressure, because this time, impossible to postpone the deadline, it MUST open! On 4 August 2016, we finally receive our first travelers, last-minute German customers arriving 3 days before the official opening date! it does not matter, the Blue Casbah lodge will be the first ready to welcome them, and their experience will be precious to us to adjust the last preparations for the official opening, August 8, 2016. Three days of frantic race later, an american family lands in Posto Nove, leaving us another week to finish, on the sly, the last gîte Es Vedrà, to welcome the last members of the "first customers club" the kind and benevolent Ruthy, Benjamin and children.

LES PETITS GARDONS SEASON 1, LET THE SHOW BEGIN !

Nos efforts récompensés : Voilà la Maison France 5 qui nous rend une visite !

Our season starts, finally! First customers, first meetings. Our bet to make live perfect strangers in a holiday home works perfectly! The alchemies are created, the aperitifs are eternal dinners at one and the others, the children have fun, in short it is happiness! As the month progresses, customers follow one another and their comments warm our hearts! Some even become friends, and most promise to come back. Mission accomplished ! We turn the page of the great adventure of the works, to open a new one, white and glowing like the sun of the Gard ... Thanks to Marithé, Christine, Otto, Aldo, Emilie, François, Chokri, Odile, Alex, Norman, Jérémie, Adrien, Abder, Gui2, Bene, Toffee, Herve, David & France, Yohann, Jean-Charles, Yannick, Maud, Laurent, Herve, Claudia, Stephanie and all the others ... to have financed, helped, inspired motivated, advised or simply encouraged us. We look forward to seeing you on Facebook for the rest of our adventures, and on the 25th of November 2016 on France 5 in the famous interior decoration show "la Maison France 5"! Youpi !!

LPG -limited liability company  with share capital of €50000 registered at the Business Registry of Nîmes under SIREN number 811361237

Privacy policy / Design: Leslie Clerc - All rights reserved®

Politique de confidentialité - LPG - société à responsabilité limitée au capital de 50000 € - 811361237 RCS NIMES / Design: Leslie Clerc - Tous droits réservés 
 

la petite histoire...

GENÈSE DE L'AVENTURE

En septembre 2013, nous avons décidé de quitter Paris pour exploiter notre complémentarité, et assouvir notre besoin d'une vie plus simple, et plus proche de la nature. Jean-Marie était alors directeur de production dans l'événementiel, et moi, Leslie, illustratrice. L'idée de départ était de créer un lieu de vie et d'hospitalité à la campagne. Original, esthétique, accueillant, reposant et convivial, chacun s'y sentirait davantage comme un invité plutôt que comme un client... Ce lieu nous ressemblerait, il serait éclectique, cool, ludique, festif ou zen selon l'humeur, dans un cadre magnifique et ensoleillé, avec une belle vue et une piscine intérieure pour se détendre l'hiver et barboter à l'abri du vent et des coups de soleil l'été... nous y emmènerions vivre nos deux petits bonhommes âgés à l'époque de 6 mois et 7 ans, loin de la pollution et des hivers mouillés. Bref ce ne fut pas une mince affaire pour trouver cette perle rare. Nous avons exploré plusieurs régions pendant un an, en nous rapprochant petit à petit d'Uzès... où nous avons débarqué en octobre 2014 pour un repérage de 3 semaines.

LE GRAND SAUT

L'automne était splendide, et le soleil toujours au zénith. C'est au cours de cette escapade que nous avons découvert ce que nous cherchions par dessus tout après 25 ans à Paris pour Jean-Marie, originaire de Bretagne, et toute une vie de Parisienne pour moi : un climat doux et sec, des paysages splendides, la proximité de 2 gares TGV (Avignon et Nîmes) et de 4 aéroports internationaux (Montpellier, Nîmes, Avignon et Marseille), ajouté à cela, une région culturellement riche et vivante toute l'année, une gastronomie et un terroir qui en imposent... Bref, le hasard nous a offert de visiter cette maison... Elle n'était pas encore gracieuse, et ne ressemblait pas au mas traditionnel qui plaît tant aux touristes ; Mais la base était là : la vue, la piscine, les volumes... nous avons tous deux immédiatement senti ses vibrations et son potentiel de rénovation. La beauté et la situation du village de Castillon-du-Gard, entre Cévennes, Ardèche, Alpilles, Camargue et littoral ont fait le reste. Quel incroyable défi pour qui voulait bien être assez fou pour se retrousser les manches et transformer cette bâtisse en villa méditerranéenne ! Fous nous étions, et nous nous sommes jetés à l'eau.

DU RÊVE À LA RÉALITÉ

Notre loft parisien vendu (une surface commerciale que nous avions également rénovée dans le quartier de la Goutte d'Or), nous parvenons à acquérir la maison et nous installons provisoirement dans une petite partie habitable, le futur gîte Posto Nove. Nous sommes en en mai 2015. Premier combat : trouver un financement pour nos travaux. Ayant passé l'hiver à boucler le business plan (un pavé illustré de 120 pages !) nous pensions qu'en présentant cette somme de travail conséquente à une banque cette étape ne serait qu'une formalité... en réalité nous avons mis plus de 9 mois avant de croiser la route de la conseillère pro du Crédit Agricole de Remoulins, qui a littéralement craqué sur notre projet ovni, et qui s'est battue, avec succès pour que nous puissions démarrer in extremis nos travaux... en janvier 2016. Merci encore à elle !

AU BOULOT !

Janvier 2016. Après tout ce temps perdu, il est vraiment temps de démarrer le chantier si nous ne voulons pas louper la saison ! Heureusement, un ange gardien vient de se poser sur les Petits Gardons : Chokri, un ami de longue date de Jean-Marie, et conducteur de chantier expérimenté est le premier à rejoindre l'équipe. Nous travaillons 10h par jour pour que tout avance le plus vite possible : plans, agencement, maçonneries extérieures, isolation, murs, électricité, plomberie, peintures.... mais les mauvaises surprises s'accumulent, tout est à refaire ! Les artisans, tous locaux, arrivent petit sur le chantier, au fur et à mesure que les plans définitifs se dessinent. C'est la course contre la montre, et pourtant, chacun s'y met dans la bonne humeur.

LE SPRINT FINAL

Avec le printemps, vient le tour du paysage : terrassement, création des murets de pierres sèches, installation du système d'irrigation... 5 camions de terre, un palmier de 5m et deux camions de plantes plus tard, notre petit oasis prend forme : Lauriers roses, grenadier, goyavier, murier, rince-bouteilles, lavandes, romarin, oliviers, gauras, agaves, cycas... Il était temps, la chaleur est de retour et il est temps de s'occuper de notre piscine qui sert encore de garde-meubles ! Mais pas question de mettre en eaux avant d'avoir de l'avoir isolée et repeinte. Le sol est également en mauvais état, il faut tout décaper ! Les tâches s'enchaînent à une vitesse folle... Les erreurs aussi, et faut parfois défaire et refaire ce que l'on a peiné à entreprendre la veille, sans se décourager. C'est le métier qui rentre ! Début juin les pergolas sont montées, la nouvelle terrasse de piscine en bois est construite... mais il reste encore les carrelages extérieurs à changer, les cuisines à concevoir et à monter, les tables à fabriquer, les banquettes à tapisser, l'électroménager à acheter, la déco, l'équipement, la literie... la saison sent le sapin... mais personne ne baisse les bras, nous n'avons pas le choix il faut sauver la saison et ouvrir en juillet coûte que coûte !

Juillet 2016. On a tout donné, mais début juillet, c'est toujours l'heure des finitions... Et comme on dit dans le bâtiment, les finitions, c'est ce qui a de plus long ! 7 jours de travail par semaine, 15h par jour, nous travaillons sans relâche. C'est l'heure de la déco, enfin ! Alors on chine on coupe, on scie, on colle, on rabote... on ne sait plus où donner de la tête pour ouvrir avant la fin du mois. Le projet prends forme, et nous commençons à toucher notre rêve du bout des doigts... Entre les derniers aller-retour de la déchetterie et aux magasins de bricolage (que nous connaissons mieux que les vendeurs !) nous parvenons à produire une première série photo pour notre site internet, et pour alimenter les canaux de vente en ligne... Sans photos, pas de clients !

ENFIN L'OUVERTURE !

Août 2016. Ça y est nous y sommes ! Nous redoublons d'intensité pour les derniers préparatifs et l'arrivée de nos premiers clients. Adrien notre talentueux photographe a fait des merveilles et est parvenu à shooter les premiers espaces terminés à temps pour la mise en ligne de notre site. Les premières réservations tombent... c'est à la fois un soulagement et une grosse pression supplémentaire, car cette fois-ci, impossible de repousser les délais, il FAUT ouvrir ! Le 4 août 2016, nous recevons enfin nos premiers voyageurs, des clients allemands de  dernière minute arrivés 3 jours avant la date officielle de l'ouverture ! qu'à cela ne tienne, le gîte Blue Casbah sera le premier prêt à les accueillir, et leur expérience nous sera précieuse pour ajuster les derniers préparatifs pour l'ouverture officielle, le 8 août 2016. Trois jours de course effrénée plus tard, une grande famille américaine débarque dans Posto Nove, nous laissant encore une semaine pour terminer, en catimini, le gîte Es Vedrà, dont nous ne sommes pas prêt d'oublier la bienveillance et la gentillesse des premiers occupants et derniers membres du club des "premiers clients", Ruthy, Benjamin et leurs enfants.

LES PETITS GARDONS SAISON 1, C'EST PARTI !

Notre saison démarre, enfin ! Premiers clients, première rencontres. Notre pari de faire cohabiter de parfaits inconnus dans une maison de vacances fonctionne à merveille ! Les alchimies se créent, les apéros s'éternisent en dîners chez les uns et chez les autres, les enfants s'éclatent, bref c'est le bonheur ! Au fil du mois, les clients se succèdent et leurs commentaires nous réchauffent le coeur ! Certains deviennent même des amis, et la plupart nous promettent de revenir. Mission accomplie ! Nous tournons la page de la grande aventure des travaux, pour en ouvrir une nouvelle, blanche et éclatante comme le soleil du Gard... Merci à Marithé, Christine, Otto, Aldo, Émilie, François, Chokri, Odile, Alex, Norman, Jérémie, Adrien, Abder, Gui2, Béné, Toffee, Hervé, David & France, Yohann, Jean-Charles, Yannick, Maud, Laurent, Hervé, Claudia, Stéphanie et tous les autres... de nous avoir financés, aidés, inspirés, motivés, conseillés ou tout simplement encouragés. Nous vous donnons rendez-vous sur Facebook pour la suite de nos aventures, et le 25 Novembre 2016 sur France 5 dans l'émission la Maison France 5 ! Youpi !! 

RESTONS EN CONTACT

Logo Les Petits gardons